Shri Yashpal Arya Hon’ble Minister for Irrigation Govt. of Uttarakhand

Welcome to Uttarakhand Irrigation Department !
Power ( Electricity ) has been an essential part of society's development programme. This is generated by any one of the following sources :- Thermal, Nuclear and Hydro. The last one has taken a lead due to being cheap, non- polluting, renewable and above all environment friendly.

In addition to construction and maintenance of irrigation system, flood protection and drainage works, to cater the power needs the state irrigation department has also been planned a number of Hydro Power Projects after independence .In this sequence, the foundation stone was laid on 23rd May 1949 by the then Hon'ble Prime Minister of India, Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru at Dakpatthar place of district Dehradun in Uttarakhand state.

The hydroelectric projects need technical skill of the highest order with respect to design and research activities for which Uttarakhand Irrigation boasts of unmatched personnel in this field in Design Organization and Irrigation Research Institute at Roorkee.

All Copyrights Reserved : Uttarakhand Irrigation Department

Powered By :  Webline